Portage Community School District Board of Education Special Meeting Minutes

March 24, 2025 5:30 p.m.

305 E. Slifer Street, Portage, Wisconsin 53901

In attendance: Board: Connie Shlimovitz, Mark Fahey (recused and left before deliberation), Nicky Cross, Dan Garrigan (recused and left before hearing), Kelly Behnke, Ellen Stevenson (recused and left before deliberation), Sarah Johnson

Others: Attorney Brian Goodman

Administration: District Administrator Joshua Sween, Associate H.S. Principal Sean Stout, H.S.

Principal Dr. Jennifer Garrigan Family: For Student: Student, Parent

I. Call to Order at 5:30 PM.—Open Meeting Declaration – Call the Roll

II. Pledge of Allegiance

III. Action Items

a. Proposed Closed Session - Motion made by Behnke; 2nd by Stevenson to go into closed session at 5:31 PM for:

Consideration of adjourning to closed session under Sections 19.85(1)(a), and 19.85(1)(f) of the Wisconsin Statutes. Sections 19.85(1)(a) and 19.85(1)(f) allow a meeting to be closed to the public when a government body is going to deliberate concerning a case which was the subject of any judicial or quasi-judicial trial or hearing before that governmental body, or when a governmental body considers medical, social or personal histories or disciplinary data of specific persons, or the investigation of charges against specific persons, which, if discussed in public would be likely to have a substantial adverse effect upon the reputation of any person referred to in such histories or data or involved in such problems or investigations.

The purpose of the closed meeting is to conduct an expulsion hearing in accordance with Section 120.13(1)(c) of the Wisconsin Statutes and to review and discuss pupil records, as defined in Section 118.125 of the Wisconsin Statutes. It is anticipated that the Board will conduct the hearing, deliberate, and then vote on the expulsion during the closed session.

Roll call vote. The motion carried unanimously.

IV. Reconvene in Open Session.

Motion to reconvene in Open Session at 7:08 PM made by Behnke second by Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

VI. Motion to adjourn at 7:09 PM made by Cross, second by Behnke. Motion carried unanimously.